6a00d83451b36c69e201b8d14b57b9970c-800wi

I know, my name isn’t as obscure or unique as say Tamsin or Laird, but this is honestly one of my biggest pet peeves. In my line of work, I am required to wear a name tag, like my fellow retail/fast food workers that lets the customer know how to address me.  Let me start off by saying, I know you’re trying to be nice and friendly by calling me by my name, but if you’re not 100% certain that you know how to pronounce my name, please feel free to ask. Here are few ways I’ve had my name pronounced (in all honesty, I hear almost each one of these twice a day):


sh AW n uh

 

sh ee n aa

 

Sha NY a

There are more, I’m sure of it, but those are the most common.

What really bugs me is when someone who KNOWS me, personally, or they’re regular customers and I’ve corrected them a thousand times and yet they still mispronounce my name. Or, if they’re feeling like a comedian, they’ll ask me if my parents were really big Shania Twain fans when they had me. Again, I know these people think they’re being nice/ funny but it gets really annoying being called name kind-of-sort-of close to my name.

 

On a second note, to those that stare at my name tag for a good while (at least I hope you’re staring at my name tag) and can’t figure out, and refuse to ask me what my name is, please don’t call me by some uncomfortable name. I’m not your “sweetie”, “sweetheart”, “honey”, “darlin’”, “cutie”, nor am I your “kiddo”. Just…. Don’t.

I beg of you, just ask!

One thought on “That’s Not my Name

  1. True Shania fans would know better…. seriously people, it’s not hard to pronounce the long “a” sound when its accompanied by a ‘y’ 😊 It looks pretty on paper too! I chose well. Mom… 😍

    Like

Leave a comment